September 17, 2011

It's a Small World!

Back in late July/early August, I was invited by Joey Chou to contribute to the It's a Small World show.  I met Joey one night when I was stopping by Flock Shop to drop off some new items on consignment. It just so happened that it was the same night as the opening of his solo show.  We struck up a conversation about Comic Con and cats, and how much we love Mary Blair...and the next thing I knew, I was invited to take part in this show.

Well, that show is finally here! I stopped by Gallery Nucleus yesterday, and all the pieces look amazing. You'll just have to see for yourself in person.

The Opening Reception is tonight from 7PM–10PM

Timed with the release of illustrator Joey Chou's latest children's book from Disney Press, a select group of talent will contribute work paying homage to this beloved and enduring theme of global peace. The book features Chou's illustrations interpreting the Sherman Brothers classic song written for the popular Disney park attraction.

This is an all-ages event. Meet some of the artists including Joey Chou who will be on hand signing copies of the new release.

Here's the schedule for the night so you'll know what to expect:

7pm-8:30pm: Joey Chou Book Signing

8pm: First Raffle Drawing - Signed copy of Joey's book and a new print from Seb Mesnard!

8:30pm: Patrick Awa, Israel Sanchez and Joey Chou start live painting demos.

9pm: Second Raffle Drawing - Signed copy of Joey's book and 2 signed Joey Chou prints!

10pm: Final Raffle Drawing - Finished live demo artwork by Joey Chou, Patrick Awa and Israel Sanchez!

Exhibiting Artists Include:

Joey Chou
Lorelay Bové
Patrick Awa
Brittney Lee
Becky Dreistadt
Patrick Hruby
Michelle Romo
Eric Diaz
Michael Fleming
Grace Lee
Brendan Wenzel
Justin Parpan
Israel Sanchez
Seb Mesnard
Griselda Sastrawinata
Rad Sechrist
Nellie Le
Pete Oswald
Mark Sperber
Winnie Ho
Olga Stern
Christian Robinson
Victoria Ying
Ryan Kramer
Alex Chechik
Kevin Chan
Sean Sullivan
Ryuku Uratsuji
Chris Turnham
Josh Parpan
Jesse Tise
Elizabeth Ito
Jing Wei
Ben Butcher
Brigette Barrager
Chris Sasaki
Claire Keane
Uwe Heidschoetter
Oliver Akuin
Edward Juan
Linda Kim
Jackie Huang
Patrick Raines
Eren Blanquet
Drake Brodahl

No comments :

Post a Comment